By Rollande Joseph Adolphe
In short, Florida Statute §316.126(b) states that on a two-lane roadway, a driver is required to slow to a speed that is 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit. If the speed limit is 20 miles per hour or less, the driver must slow down to five miles per hour.
Furthermore, If a driver is driving on an interstate or roadway with multiple lanes of travel in the same direction, and the driver approach an emergency or law enforcement vehicle parked along the roadway, the driver must vacate the lane closest to that vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so. If the driver is not able to safely move over, he/she must slow down to a speed of 20 MPH below the posted speed limit unless directed otherwise by a law enforcement officer.
Florida’s Move Over Law is over 11 years old, however, recently, I have received numerous phone calls from people who are receiving traffic tickets for not observing the law, asking me if it’s a legitimate law. Driving to and from work every morning, I see people constantly going past emergency vehicles and not observing the law. According to a national poll by the National Safety Commission 71% of Americans have not heard of Move Over Law. I have news for you Floridian’s the Move Over Law is a legitimate law. When you come upon a police car, ambulance, tow truck or other stopped emergency vehicle on a roadside, you are required by law to move over and away from the lane closest, or to slow down when passing on a two-lane road. This is for both your safety and the safety of others. Violating the Move Over Law can result in about $120 (depending on the Florida county) and 3 points on your drivers license.